## **Minutes**

The Barbour County Board of Education met in special session at 6:00 p.m. on Tuesday, September 8, 2015, at the Board of Education Office, 45 School Street, Philippi, WV 26416.

Joanne McConnell, Eric Ruf, David Everson, Reggie Trefethen, Dana Stemple, Members, and Jeff Woofter, Secretary, were present. Also in attendance was Jeff Kittle.

Mr. Ruf called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.

Mr. Ruf led the pledge to the flag.

Invocation was done by Mr. Ruf.

The board entered into closed session at 6:00 p.m. for the purpose of conducting a student hearing (EXP 1-16).

Mr. Kittle read the superintendent's recommendation to expel the student through the remainder of the 2015-2016 school year, Alternative school services will be provided in the form of Home Bound Instruction during this time, they may return to school at the beginning of the 2016-2017 school year provided that the following stipulations have been satisfied:

- Receive counseling in appropriate decision making and attend a minimum of six (6) sessions
- Provide to the Assistant Superintendent prior to July 2016

A motion was made by Mr. Stemple to adjourn into executive session at 6:32 p.m. for the purposes of deliberation. The motion was seconded by Mr. Trefethen and passed five (5) to zero (0).

The board returned to closed session at 6:40 p.m. (No votes or decisions were made in executive session)

A motion was made by Mr. Trefethen to modify the superintendent's recommendation. The motion was seconded by Mrs. McConnell. After discussion the motion passed five (5) to zero (0).

The board returned to open session at 6:43 p.m.

A motion was made by Mr. Everson to adjourn into executive session at 6:44 p.m. for legal issues. The motion was seconded by Mr. Trefethen and passed five (5) to zero (0).

The board returned to executive session at 7:21 p.m. (No votes or decisions were made in executive session)

A motion was made by Mrs. McConnell, seconded by Mr. Stemple and passed five (5) to zero (0) to adjourn.

The meeting adjourned at 7:22 p.m.

President	Secretary